Racing‎ > ‎

EBYMBC 2017 Winter Series - 15 July 2017

posted 25 Jul 2017, 20:00 by Geoff Head   [ updated 22 Oct 2019, 17:07 ]
Crew: Peter, Eduardo, Paul, Murray, Geoff.

Marine Forecast: Southerly easing to 10 knots this morning and to variable 5 knots this afternoon.

Departed Chaffers at 1119 hrs. No wind in sight yet as we motored round to Evans Bay and tied up at club jetty at 1156 hrs.

Quick lunch and race sign-on in the club house then back on Halo at 1223 hrs and motored into position for the race start. Wind was an almost non-existent southerly so we prepared for another spinnaker start with No. 1 LT Mainsail and Lightweight Spinnaker. The Postponement flag went up and we heard over Ch. 77 that the race would be delayed. So we drifted around until finally it was all go at approx 1224 hrs. With Peter on helm we moved at about 1 kts up past Greta Point and then gradually picked up speed to around 2 kts as we crossed the bay in a north easterly direction.

As we neared the top mark towards Pt Halswell all the boats starting bunching up and we were almost touching Temptation on our port side and Kingklip on our starboard and Saracen just behind us as we rounded the mark. We managed the hoist of the No1. Genoa and the drop of the Spinnaker very efficiently (expert crewing!) as we passed the mark at 1444 hrs and immediately broke away from the group.

Winds still very slight as we headed towards the Pt. Jearningham mark and three boats pulled out of the race. Eventually the wind changed to a northerly breeze and we rounded the third mark and headed back to the finish line once again with the wind behind us.

It was a sprint to the line between three boats, Temptation, Saracen and Halo going at about 4 kts. Kingklip had dropped well behind. Halo crossed the finish line at 1627 hrs, 9 secs ahead of Temptation and 23 secs ahead of Saracen. An exhilarating finish!

We then dropped Murray and Peter off at Evans Bay then motored back home arriving at Chaffers at 1709 hrs.

Start: Start 1, Finishes: Finish time, Time: 13.25
Rank Boat SailNo HelmName NHC1 Elapsed Corrected
1 Kingklip Paul Jackman 0.772 3.03.55 2.21.59
2 Saracen 1 Jan Nauta 0.896 3.02.33 2.43.34
3 Halo 5155 Geoff Head 0.912 3.02.16 2.46.14
4 Temptation 8334 Paul Wavish 0.929 3.02.25 2.49.28
5 Airlift 6118 Alan Patterson 0.992 2.52.39 2.51.16
6 Wakarere Matt McCullough 0.823 DNF
6 Shogun Peter Maheridis 0.785 DNF
6 Stormy Rowan Hatch 0.600 DNF
EBYMC Winter Series 15 July 2017.gpx
Geoff Head,
25 Jul 2017, 20:00